January Favourites 

Here are the things I have been loving throughout Jan….

Hair & Body

L’Oréal Paris Elvive Extraordinary Clay Shampoo & Conditioner (£3.99 but it’s on offer in Superdrug for £1.98) 

This stuff is amazing. I am always a little bit sceptical of cheaper shampoo & conditioners, I’ve had some bad experiences with them which put me off. Up until now I had been using my Kevin Murphy Angel which is so lovely but I was  on a bit of a budget last month so I picked this up after being recommended it and was pleasantly surprised. 

It is perfect for my hair type (greasier roots and dryer ends), smells delicious and really leaves my hair soft and clean. My hair is still fresh after 3 days which means I am not over washing or damaging my hair so much with the dryer. They claim the Clay helps to re-balance the hair and purify which I think this product does really well. 

Liz Earle Orange Flower Hand Cream (£21) & Nourishing Botanical Body Cream (£19) 

My sister bought me this for Xmas and I have been obsessed with the scent. It smells so luxurious and spa like, I always put this on at night as it instantly relaxes me after a nice hot shower or bath. My skin is always super hydrated when I wake up which is so nice. 

Make up & Skincare

Eye shadows 

Paradisco by Mac (£13) // Coral Pink 

Showgirl by NYX (£3.50) // Pearly Copper 


I’ve basically been living in these shadows all month. I put Paradisco all over my lid and use the darker Showgirl NYX shade in my crease. It creates such a warm, burnt orange/coppery look which makes my eyes look really blue (they are normally a bit wishy washy greeny/bluey/grey). I have been teaming these copper eyes with either a warm nude lip such as Velvet Teddy by Mac or a dark Brown like Salem by Lime Crime. 

Lip Products 

Sasha Velvetine by Lime Crime ($20) // Toasted Rose

Talking of Lime Crime… Onto my next favourite which is another liquid lipstick called Sasha. My ultimate liquid lipsticks are the Velvetines by Lime Crime, for me they have the easiest application and feel silky on the lips not dry or tacky. But this colour is so beautiful, it’s a dusky browny/pinky/nude but is still quite dark. It works so well for everyday wear. I’ve been wearing this pretty much the whole of Jan. 

Skincare

L’Oréal Pure Clay Purity Mask (£7.99) 

This mask is sooo damn good. I love masks that really dry up on the skin and go rock hard. This does exactly that! My skin has been so spot prone this month and I really needed something to help lift out the spots and even my skin tone. I have only used this once a week for the whole of Jan and can already notice such an improvement in my skin after using it. It feels brighter, firmer and most importantly it has helped fight those spots. 

Homeware 

Cranberry Pear Yankee Candle (£23.99)

I wanted a candle that was still wintery but not too festive to help me get through my Jan blues so I opted for this Cranberry Pear Candle by Yankee. It is a sweet scent but it has a sharpness to it which I love. It has elements of lemon which helps tone down the sweetness. My perfect scent for the end of winter. 

Matalan Faux Mongolian Cushions (£8)

I first spotted these cushions at my Mum’s house back in November but our living room still hadn’t been decorated and I had no idea if they would go with whatever we ended up doing so I held off buying them until December. The living room is finally finished so I have been able to cosy up with these recently and I love them so much! I bought two grey and two blush pink. They are huge and for only £8 an absolute bargain. I would highly recommend having a look at Matalan homeware as it’s extremely affordable and pretty decent quality. 

TV Series

Fortitude Sky Atlantic // Arctic Thriller

Ok, I’m not gonna lie we demolished season 2 of Fortitude in about a week… there were only 10 episodes so really it was only an hour or so a night! But OH MY FRICKIN GOD it was insane, I am still so confused and waiting for everyone else to catch up so I can talk about what happened! Just a pre warning if you have a weak stomach watch episode 9 with extreme caution. Fortitude is so gripping but honestly so dark and seriously worth watching.

Taboo BBC 1 // Period Drama 

I mean… come on it’s Tom Hardy dressed in a top hat being his usual bad ass self. What’s not to love? It’s dark, sinister and really interesting. I love watching TV programmes & films about old London, there’s something very exciting about walking around London everyday and relating it back to the history of the area.

I hope you enjoyed, Thanks for reading!!  

Xx

Leave a Reply

