April Favourites 

I have made a few naughty purchases throughout April so I thought I would show you some of my new bits alongside some of the things I have generally been loving this month.

Make Up & Skin Care

I am no stranger to a liquid lipstick but I have found some of my all time favourite shades this month. The first two are by Anastasia Beverly Hills. I was lucky enough to be gifted these two colours by my Dad who recently visited America. Unfortunately these liquid lipsticks are hard to get hold of in the UK but if you know someone in the US they can ship them over for you.

The two shades I’ve been loving are American Doll & Heathers ($20). American Doll is a medium red with blue undertones (similar to Mac Ruby Woo) and Heathers is a deep purple brown colour. These have a slightly higher price point than some of the current UK drugstore liquid lipsticks but they are definitely worth the extra pennies in terms of durability and finish.

Both apply beautifully leaving a matte opaque finish. One coat is enough and the application is easy as the formula is not too thick. I do find that I need to use a lip liner with both of these shades as they can bleed a little throughout the day but the colour pay off is totally worth spending that extra bit of time with a liner. I love the quality of these liquid lipsticks, they last for ages and feel comfortable on the lips. Let’s hope they come to the UK soon!

For ages I have been obsessed with Sleek Matte Me in the colour Birthday Suit (A brown nude) so I was really excited to see they had added some more colours to their range. I managed to pick up Bittersweet which is such a beautiful rose brown colour, it is so flattering and is perfect for everyday wear. The colour pay off is really good but it does require a couple of coats to get a deep finish. I was really impressed with the durability of this product, for £4.99 I would expect to have to top up throughout the day but it only comes off a little when eating. The product also doesn’t bleed at all, there is no need to use a liner but you will need a steady hand. I find it slightly more drying than the ABH Liquid Lipsticks but it still feels comfortable on the lips.

My last favourite liquid lipstick is the MUA Luxe Velvet Lip Lacquer in the colour Halcyon. This is such a pretty nude coral shade, it really brightens up the face and looks great with gold eyeshadow and lots of bronzer. It’s the perfect shade for a summery look and to highlight a tan. This was only £3 which is a bargain, I needed to reapply this a few times throughout the day but the colour is so great I didn’t mind. The feeling is quite different to any other liquid lipstick as it remains a little sticky on the lips. I found it to be a little less dehydrating than the Sleek Matte Me.


Another make up item I have been loving throughout April is the Anastasia Beverly Hills Gleam Glow Kit ($40). This contains four incredible highlighters that each have a different finish on the skin

Hard Candy – Golden peach with a pink pearl shimmer.

Mimosa – Metallic peach with golden undertones.

Starburst – Iridescent neutral pink with cool undertones.

Crushed Pearl – Pearlescent pink with a frosty finish.

I reach for Starburst and Crushed Pearl the most but if I am more tanned or creating a more bronzed finish I will use Mimosa or Hard Candy. I think my favourite colour in the palette is Hard Candy as it has such a lovely pink shimmer running through it which is quite fun and looks a bit more playful on the skin.

They are so easy to apply, I use a fan brush to help get the right amount of product onto my skin without looking like a total glitter ball. They are build-able and blend-able so you can easily get the perfect look.

The next thing I have been loving through April is something I bought because it reminded me of a lip balm I had when I was little (Sad, I know…). It is the new Palmers Flip Balms (£3.29) in the flavour watermelon. I don’t know if you ever had watermelon lip balm when you were little but it reminds me of summer so much! These flip balms are great as they are petroleum and paraben free. They also have a coconut flavour and a mango flavour. The packaging is pretty fun too, the ball flips around in the sphere so you don’t have to use your fingers to put the product on your lips.

I invested in some new skin care by Bravura London in March and wanted to give it a good try before I reviewed the products. I absolutely LOVE them. I have been using the First Cleanse Oil (£14.50) to remove my make up and it does such a good job, the oil breaks down liquid lipsticks and heavy eye make up so easily. It means I only have to gently wipe away the excess instead of scrubbing at my lips and eyes to remove stubborn make up. It smells great and feels really lovely to apply.

I have also been using the Bravura Azulene Moisturiser (£9.90) which has really helped oil control. It is the first moisturiser I have used that absorbs quickly and gives my skin a hydrated but fairly matte finish. I never feel like my skin is too oily or caked in product, it’s the perfect moisturiser for anyone with a lot of shine or oil.

House & Home

As you probably know I’ve been obsessed with Caci at the moment, it’s gone a little too far but I thought I would sneak one more little cacti element to my bedroom. Oliver Bonas have such a cute range of homeware at the moment and I picked up this gold catus carafe for £12.50 (I am going to use it as a vase). I love it so much, they also have matching glasses which I will be getting. It’s a really nice size for a small bunch of flowers and works perfectly with the colours in my bedroom.

I am a sucker for spicy winter scents and find it really hard to find a summery smell that I like. I picked up this Pomelo & Sea Salt Soy candle in Anthropologie and am so pleased I found it. It smells pretty amazing, I love that it’s quite different to my usual homely scents and it is really uplifting.

Another idea I’ve have for a while is to create a gallery wall, our bedroom has a lot of empty wall space and looks quite bare so I am going to buy a print each month until I have enough to create a collage.

One of my favourite childhood books is Alice In Wonderland and I wanted a print of this to add to the collection. I went onto good old NotOnTheHighstreet.Com and instantly found the perfect one in copper foil print on a grey background. It’s currently sitting on my side table until I have a few more to put on the wall.

Clothes

I wear black to work everyday which I love but I also tend to wear quite dull colours out of work as well, grey, black and white are all staples in my wardrobe. I wanted to inject a bit of colour into my wardrobe for Spring so I bought a couple of items that would go with my current outfits but would add a little bit more excitement.

My absolute favourite is this bright coral dot embossed sweatshirt from COS (£30 in the sale). It’s oversized and has gathering at the cuffs and neckline giving it a balloon like shape. I love clothing that has unusual textures and shapes so I am very happy I found this. The colour is super bright but works well with jeans or black leather skirt.

I also invested in a new faux leather skirt from Zara in a dusky powder blue (£25.99). I have a very similar version of this in black and the shape works well on my figure. It is a high waisted soft a-line that falls just above the knee which is perfect for spring. It looks really cute with a white shirt or casual Tee.

I wanted to get some new sunnies and fell in love with these Quay Cherry Bomb mirrored glasses. I had been lusting after some pink mirrored sunnies from Ray Ban but couldn’t justify spending so much so these were the perfect compromise at £35. They are actually huge when they are on (I have a small head) taking up most of my face but that’s why I love them so much. They are absolutely ridiculous.

Thanks for reading X

Leave a Reply

