Charlotte Tilbury Magic Foundation Review 

I may be a little bit late to the game here but I’ve been on the hunt for a slightly lighter weight, full coverage foundation to replace my Estée Lauder Double Wear and have been strongly recommended the Charlotte Tilbury Magic Foundation by so many people. I thought I would take the plunge and invest in this product. To be honest I was completely sold as soon as I saw the packaging, rose gold heaven! But I also love full coverage and was enticed by it being a little lighter than my existing DW foundation.

I was colour matched at the Covent Garden Branch as number 2. I think this shade could be a little pale for me but once warmed up with bronzer and blush it looks perfect. I always prefer to add in my colour/depth with other products rather than having a slightly darker foundation.

Magic Foundation launched in 2015 after much anticipation, taking a full 5 years of intense research and hard work to reach the shelves. Charlotte Tilbury has perfected this formula to suit all skin types. Charlottes main aim was to create a full coverage foundation that would be able to cover acne scars, uneven skin tones & redness whilst retaining brightening qualities for tired or lacklustre skin.

A quick little outline of my skin type will help make sure this is a relevant review for you. I have normal skin with an oily t-zone area and I also suffer with redness / breakouts around my chin / nose. I also have quite an uneven skin tone, yellow, pink, brown you name it I’ve got it.

My skin isn’t dry or dehydrated so I won’t be able to comment on how this foundation works on dryer skin but there are some great reviews out there on varying skin types.

What’s in it?

Laricyl: This is a concentrated mushroom extract. In French medical legend it was highly sought after as an elixir for longer life. Triple action: It improves skin firmness, Magically tightens pores, Floods the skin with moisture

Hyaluronic Filling Spheres: These genius spheres fill with moisture as they are absorbed into the skin, plumping the skin with water, reversing wrinkle grooves. This takes effect almost immediately, and within 1 hour your skin is a smoothed and re-texturised canvas.

Supercharged Vitamin C (VC-IP): This brand-new skin hero ingredient has been tested clinically in several In-Vivo tests and is the first time it is integrated into a foundation. Vitamin C is a well-known anti-oxidant that revives skin for a glowing, lit-from-within complexion. VC-IP, super-charged Vitamin C, has been tested against the leading vitamin C ingredient Ascorbic Acid (AsA), and is far more effective at feeding the skin’s cells with energy. It converts into pure vitamin C within the skin, giving protection and energy directly to the skin’s cells and DNA

Application

To apply this foundation I used the same technique I do with my Double Wear. Using a Real Techniques Buffing Brush, I worked the formula into my skin. It is a fairly thick consistency so you need to work pretty quickly with this before it sets. Once buffed in I used my Real Techniques Miracle Complexion Sponge to pat over the skin to even it out and give a flawless finish.

I was really happy with how much product is released in one pump, it was the perfect amount to cover my whole face and down into my neck. It does take a bit of working into the skin but I find spending that little extra time blending it in really makes a difference. It does have an unusual smell (a little biscuity) that may bother some people but it’s very subtle and disappears once it sets.

Coverage & Finish

This foundation sets as semi-matte so there is no need to use lots of powder after application. It also doesn’t sit in lines or imperfections which is a lovely quality.

The coverage with this foundation is really great. It covers redness very well and evens out skin tone perfectly. I did find I had to add some concealer over my spots but these were very red and would always need a little extra help.

Durability

I have been wearing this foundation everyday for over two weeks and have found that it wears quite well throughout the day on the normal areas of my skin. However, it does tend to lose its mattifying qualities fairly quickly on my forehead and chin, I generally find that I need to powder a couple of hours after applying (I have also tried applying powder straight after application but it still tends to break down slightly in those areas).

It really doesn’t bother me that I need to do this as any girl with oily skin can understand it would take a miracle foundation to stop shine central. A small touch up with powder throughout the day is all this foundation needs. If you have normal or dry skin it would most certainly last a full working day without any touch ups.

Overall

I think this is a really lovely semi matte foundation that gives high coverage without feeling or looking cakey. It is also extremely comfortable to wear causing no tightness or dryness that often comes with a matte finish.

This foundation would be an excellent choice for any brides out there as it needs minimal mantinence and photographs very well. It also contains SPF which is great for summer weddings.

One thought on “Charlotte Tilbury Magic Foundation Review 

Leave a Reply

