Skincare Saviours 

I have been avidly reading (slightly obsessed) with Caroline Hirons blog since Christmas and she has honestly made me think so much more about my skincare regime.

For years I would swoop away my make up with a trusty Facewipe and that was it! I honestly thought my skin was super clean and make up free but I couldn’t understand why I was still getting so many breakouts. Putting it down to hormones, I carried on with the wipes not realising they were just shifting my make up and dirt around my face rather than removing it.

My skin is normal/oily so I often have trouble with the dreaded shiny t-zone and breakouts around my nose and chin. After reading about the benefits and science behind certain skincare products I decided to invest in some that I thought would benefit me the most.

I am still very new to trailling skincare products but these are a few that have made a big impact on the health and vitality of my skin.


1. Boots Botanics Hot Cloth Cleansing Balm £8.99

I had been using the Liz Earle Cleanse and Polish for a while but wanted a more oily base to really cling to and remove my make up. The Botanics balm smells incredible and feels really lovely to rub into the skin. It almost looks like an exfoliater in the pot but once warmed in the hands is turns into an oil.

I gently massage this into my skin in circular motions and then remove with a hot cotton flannel (I found the Muslim cloth it came with way too rough). It does take a while to remove this from the skin so if you want a quick cleanse I wouldn’t suggest this product but it’s great if you have a bit more time and want to remove all traces of make up. I double cleanse with this in the evening and my skin feels so soft and clean afterwards

2. Pixiwoo Glow Tonic £18

Following on from the double cleanse I use a facial acid. When I first read about these I was very sceptical, how can acid be good for your skin? But this is the nicest part of my routine and makes your skin feel revived and renewed.

I use Pixiwoo Glow Tonic which is a relatively mild acid (morning and night). Simply sweep a soaked cotton pad over your face and neck after cleansing. It is so refreshing and instantly gives your skin a boost.

Pixiwoo Glow Tonic is infused with glycolic acid which lightly exfoliates removing old skin cells from the surface. It is enriched with Aloe helping to hydrate and calm redness. The added ginseng oxygenates the skin which helps promote skin renewal.

I found it was the perfect introduction to facial acids as it’s mild and smells very botanical. I will be looking into trying some stronger formulas to see if there is a difference (I’ll keep you updated)

3. La Roche-Posay Serozinc £8.50

This is a spritz toner than really wakes you up in the morning! It contains Zinc Sulphate which reduces bacteria growth on the skin. This product has really helped to minimise my breakouts without having to use harsh, drying ‘anti blemish’products. It also helps to control sebum production so my skin feels mattified for longer.

You can also use this during the day over make up as a little refreshing boost. Perfect for holidays in the heat.

4. Indeed Labs Hydraluron £24.99

This is a below surface moisturiser not a replacement for your normal moisturiser. I apply a pea sized amount of this onto my skin after my tonic spritz and massage evenly into my skin. It is a clear gel without a strong smell (it smells kind of sweet) that feels very cool when it touches the skin.

It contains a pure form of hyaluronic acid which can hold up to a 1,000 times its weight in water. I have found that I no longer get any tightness in my skin since using this product. My skin feels plump, hydrated and comfortable.

5. Advanced Night Repair Synchronized Recovery Complex II £50

I apply a small amount of this serum onto my skin at night before I go to sleep. It’s non sticky, oil free, non-comedogenic and fragrance free which is perfect for sensitive or spot prone skin.

I have found this really helps with my skin when it is looking dull and flat. It helps the skin cells renew overnight which leaves your skin looking bright and radiant when you wake up. It’s particularly helpful if your skin feels dehydrated.

It’s marketed as having anti ageing properties which is something I am (unfortunately) having to start thinking about. At 27 I feel this is a really good time to start using some anti ageing skincare, I haven’t got many signs of wrinkles but If I can try to prevent them I will!

This is slightly pricier product but a little really does go a long way. I have had a 7ml sample and it’s lasted me about 4-5 weeks of using it almost every night.

I hope you enjoyed this blog post. These skincare products have worked for me and my skin but obviously everyone’s skin works differently. 

I would love to hear about any other skincare products that work particularly well for oily or spot prone skin so please comment below!

Xx 

Leave a Reply

